Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
alt_photo

Benjamin

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate $80
  • Response Time 15h
  • Number of students 3
See German tutors

This teacher is currently unavailable

Benjamin - Richmond - German

    • Richmond
    • at his place
    • at your home
    • webcam

About the lesson

Your interest in German tuition may be due to exams, a university course, German relatives, an audition, or the unique German sense of humour - I'll help you prepare for all of that. I enjoy teaching a lot and will make sure you enjoy your progress!

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

German: basics, conversation, GCSE, iGCSE and A-Level exams, German for university students. I also do translations, proof-reading, and accent coaching. If requested, I coach a wide variety of sport disciplines, I am a competent contact person for PE support and general fitness.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a German degree in English, P. E., and an additional degree in German as a foreign language (1. Staatsexamen at the University of Heidelberg, 2. Staatsexamen at the Institute for Teacher Training Stuttgart, State of Baden-Wuerttemberg, mark 1,9).

- How much do you charge?

My fees are

£50 / 60 minutes
£40 / 45 minutes
When requested, I tutor two or more people in one session. Price per person:
£35 (30) / 60 min for two (three+)
£30 (25) / 45 min for two (three+)

Online tutoring (skype or other if preferred):
£35 / 60 min
£30 / 45 min

£5 travel expenses zones 1-3
£7 travel expenses zones 4-6
£10 if further

Please note that I charge the same fees for the first lesson/meeting.

- Where do you teach?

German: at home in Richmond and at students' homes. Sports: where required.
I'm willing to travel up to 1 h by public transport (mostly quicker than car/scooter). This includes Richmond, Kingston, Crouch End, Haringey, Camden, Hampstead, St Pancras, Holborn, Greenwich, Woolwich, Hackney, Shoreditch, Stoke Newington, Hammersmith and Fulham, Islington, Finsbury, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Wandsworth, Lewisham, Deptford, Southwark, Bermondsey, Camberwell, Tower Hamlets, Bethnal Green, Poplar, Stepney, Battersea, Paddington, St Marylebone, Westminster, Barnet, Waltham Forest, Ealing, Brent. Also to Cambridge and the towns along the National Express line, e. g. Harlow Town, Sawbridgeworth, Bishop's Stortford, Mountfitchet, Elsenham, Newport (Essex), Audley End, Great Chesterford, Whittlesford, Great Shelford, and Cambridge.

- When are you available?

I'm quite flexible. Every now and then I travel to my family and friends in Germany. On such an occasion we could consider to do a lesson over Skype.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

Any age, any level. At school up to A-Level. University students. My youngest student so far was 5, the oldest 71.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

Any exams. GCSE, iGCSE, A-Level, written/oral exams, uni exams, translations, presentations, papers, essays, projects, auditions.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

Skype or other if preferred.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

In August 2010 I moved from Munich to London and am enjoying tutoring part time as well as looking after our son, who was born in November - he is fluent in Germany already. Since 1999 I've been living here on and off as well as in different cities in Germany. I know Germany very well. My mother tongue is German and I don't have an accent. I have always liked travelling and found language and communication as such fascinating and enjoy teaching very much. I am more than happy to help you prepare for any exam, help you understand (from a teacher's point of view) what will be required from you so you can focus and organize your studies towards it so you feel well prepared. Obviously, there is much more to a language than its main tools vocabulary and grammar. There is also much more to Germany than... well, you tell me the stereotypes! Most important for me is that you enjoy the lessons as well as the progress and stay motivated and confident.

subjects

  • German

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • High School
  • NCEA Level 1
  • +18

    NCEA Level 2

    NCEA Level 3

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

    A1

    A2

    B1

    B2

    C1

    C2

    Beginner

    Intermediate

    Advanced

    Professional

    Kids

About Benjamin

- What kind of experience do you have?

Teaching year 5 to A-Level:
Teaching at the German (Secondary) School in Richmond since 2012.
Teaching English and P. E. at the Otto Hahn Gymnasium in Boeblingen and the Max Planck Gymnasium (Stuttgart, 2005-2007).
Teaching German in Hammersmith (London, 1999-2000) at the Godolphin and Latymer School.
In addition, I am the Duke of Edinburgh's Award coordinator at the German School in Richmond.
I coached boys aged 6-14 at a gymnastics sports club. (Heidelberg, 2000-2005).
Since 1996 until now private tutoring up to A-Level, German conversation, translation, proof-reading, accent coaching.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I have got a CRB check from 2012.

- Where and with whom did you train?

In Heidelberg and Stuttgart, at university and the teaching seminary (Seminar Stuttgart).

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I am a member of NASUWT, the largest teachers' union in the UK.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

The GCSE results have just come in and I was very happy to hear of my students' fantanstic results. Here are some extracts from emails and references - I replaced the names with '()' and shortened them:
"Dear Ben

... I thought you would like to know that () got an “A” Grade in his GCSE German. In an email, his German teacher at school wrote: '() has got a high A (266/300). He would have needed 270 for an A*. However, given that he did it as a Short course, I think it is a fantastic result. Congratulations."

"Ben – your tuition of () had a great deal to do with this excellent result. So, many thanks again. () is even talking about possibly doing German at “A Level."

"Hi Benjamin,
I just wanted to let you know that I received my GCSE results yesterday, and I got an A* in both my German Oral and the Reading/Writing/Listening Examination. Thank you so much for all your help!"

"My wife and I were very satisfied with the quality of Benjamin's tutoring/teaching, which was usually provided once per week – sometimes with extra sessions on request. Benjamin was very quick to establish an excellent rapport with our son, who found the lessons to be very enjoyable. Our son was fully engaged with the process, which extended well beyond the weekly lesson. Benjamin ensured that () consolidated his learning by contacting him in between lessons; providing him with additional vocabulary lists; directing him to relevant e-learning opportunities etc. Benjamin also provided information of relevant German cultural material: motion pictures; music; popular culture etc. and it certainly contributed to ()'s learning and enjoyment. I have no hesitation in recommending Benjamin for the purposes of his German language tutoring, which is of a very high standard indeed."

"Benjamin Maeurer tutored our daughter on a one-to-one basis in the final year of her German GCSE. He is a reliable, conscientious, and dynamic teacher whom I would not hesitate to recommend. He plans lessons thoroughly and responds to his student's needs diligently and accurately. I was particularly impressed by his use of technology to enhance and reinforce his teaching. We recommended him to another family and they were just as pleased with his teaching and approachability as we were."

Rates

packs

  • 5h: $400
  • 10h: $800

webcam

  • $80/h

Find your german tutor
4018 tutors available

  • Native German, trilingual, translator and coach (business / personal affairs) provides German lessons.

    Anja

    Pézenas, France

    5 (42 reviews)
    • $43/h
    • 30mins free
  • Dedicated native German teacher certified by the Goethe Institut specialized in tailor-made learning

    Lea

    Valencia, Spain

    5 (39 reviews)
    • $38/h
    • 30mins free
  • Graduated in languages, she offers German courses in the province of Pavia for elementary school children, middle school and high school children

    Greta

    Dorno, Italy

    5 (16 reviews)
    • $26/h
    • 30mins free
  • Professional literary translator graduated from ITIRI gives German course all levels in Strasbourg

    Frédéric

    Strasbourg, France

    4.9 (12 reviews)
    • $43/h
  • German Woman gives online German lessons for children experienced in german schools

    Ingrid

    • $20/h
    • 45mins free
  • Bachelor Degree in Commerce and accounting. Masters degree in Economics and Marketing.20 years experience in teaching.

    Dan

    Auckland

    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Top German and English student at school, German native speaker and am teaching both German and English to all levels. Am able to work with your individual needs.

    Sophie

    Upper Hutt

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • German lessons for all levels with professional teacher and Doctor of Linguistics from the University of Sorbonne

    Anna

    Wellington

    • $28/h
    • 1hr free
  • German (Austrian) native speaker living in New Zealand.  Master Student in International Business at Dalarna University Sweden.

    Lena

    Tauranga

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Art student from Germany offering German lessons. Let’s work together to improve your grammar and vocabulary, become better at reading/pronunciation, learn and practice everyday conversation skills.

    Emma

    Tauranga

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • German tutor with 10 years of experience gives German lessons in Christchurch and online

    Kritara

    Christchurch

    • $35/h
    • 30mins free
  • Psychology student (native German speaker) offering German classes for beginners and advanced

    Julie

    Auckland

    • $18/h
    • 1hr free
  • I speak German fluent i can write and read professional i went in Germany to school from year 3 to 12

    Emel

    Christchurch

    • $25/h
    • 30mins free
  • Doctor in linguistics from Sorbonne University and professional teacher gives German classes to all levels

    Anna

    Palmerston North

    • $27/h
    • 1hr free
  • Native speaker teaches German online and in person (Wellington) - For school / university / Travel / Conversation / Business

    Roozbeh

    Wellington

    • $40/h
    • 45mins free
  • Experienced proffessional 20 years experience in IT, Analysis and Project Management. Offers tutoring in German, physics, engineering, chemistry and report writing.

    Philip

    Auckland

    • $40/h
    • 1hr free
  • !5 YEARS' EXPERIENCE IN TEACHING GERMAN LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE at university level

    Wilhelm

    Auckland

    • $40/h
    • 1hr free
  • Affordable German tutor with 30 years experiences for all ages and levels in Auckland and suburbs

    Gabriele

    • $45/h
    • 1hr free
  • I have study Linguistik (Germanistik) and i Tesch German sind 15 years

    Nader

    Auckland

    • $8/h
    • 1hr free
  • Translation studies graduate with teaching experience offering online or personal German/French/Spanish/English classes

    Anneka

    Mount Maunganui

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more teachers