Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
alt_photo

Sue

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate $71
  • Response Time 13h
  • Number of students 2
Book a class

Sue - Swallowfield - School support

    • Swallowfield
    • at her place
    • at your home
    • webcam

Super tutor

Sue is one of our best School support tutors. High-quality profile, verified qualifications, a quick response time, and great reviews from students!

About the lesson

I have been a private tutor for over 25 years and enjoy helping individual students realise their potential and improve their grades.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach English and French up to A level. I can also offer Latin to GCSE/Common Entrance level. Other areas that I cover include effective writing skills for mature students, essay writing skills, online/Skype tuition, proof-reading and translation.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a BA Joint Hons in English and French and a PGCE in English main subject/French subsidiary.

- How much do you charge?

I charge £35 per hour lesson for all levels up to GCSE, £40 for A level. These rates apply to lessons taught at my home. I charge an extra £15 per lesson for travel. On line lessons are charged at £35 per hour.

- Where do you teach?

I prefer to teach at home but will very occasionally travel to students' homes within a 10 mile radius from RG7 - primarily in the Wokingham, Reading (South Berkshire), Eversley (North Hampshire) areas
.Please note however, that it is unusual for me to have time to travel to a pupil. Please consider Skype lessons if you have problems getting to me.

- When are you available?

I can teach most times and days of the week but not usually weekends. I try to offer flexibility re times of lessons recognising that these days we all have busy schedules. Most pupils have a 1 hour lesson per week but this can be increased in the run up to exams if required. Fortnightly lessons may be an option and online lessons can be used to supplement face to face teaching.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach mainly GCSE and A level students but can also offer coaching to younger students preparing for Common Entrance/Scholarship exams. I also tutor degree/postgrad students in essay writing. I also offer online tutoring via Skype and proof reading.
I can offer help with preparation of personal statements for university entrance and preparation for UKCAT tests.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I prepare students for GCSE, A level, CE and Scholarship to major public schools.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I offer an online marking/annotating of practice papers, exam questions and draft essays. I have also used Google chat or phone coaching to assist past students.
I also offer online tutoring via Skype - a good value alternative to face to face tuition.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

One to one tuition has many advantages as it is tailor-made to suit the needs of each individual. I try to focus on each student's strengths and build their confidence so they can improve their results. Tuition can be enjoyable as well as effective.
Take a look at my website to get more details about me and read my blog which offers advice to parents and students about all aspects of tuition/studying.

subjects

  • School support

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • High School
  • NCEA Level 1
  • +7

    NCEA Level 2

    Adult education

    NCEA Level 3

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Sue

- What kind of experience do you have?

I taught for a few years in a private prep school before specialising in private tuition for over 25 years

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

My enhanced CRB check was done in 2006 when I was a school governor.

- Where and with whom did you train?

BA Hons 2:1 from Keele University
PGCE from Southlands College (Roehampton London)
Institute of Bankers Part 1 Conversion West London College

- Tell me about some of your current students.

At present I am tutoring a variety of students in the Wokingham/Reading/Bracknell areas. They are a mixture of students preparing for 11+ , Common Entrance and 13+ entry to Reading Boys, GCSE level pupils and and A level pupils.. This last year I have also helped with preparation of personal statements for university entrance, degree level coursework, UCAT preparation, and proof reading. I have two 'Skype' pupils at present.

Rates

packs

  • 5h: $355
  • 10h: $710

webcam

  • $71/h

Find your school support tutor
9081 tutors available

  • Teacher of mathematics and physics, he offers lessons for students of all levels

    Daniele

    Napoli, Italy

    5 (41 reviews)
    • $26/h
  • I am an experienced French teacher from Paris (for adults and children)

    Fanny

    Montrouge, France

    5 (39 reviews)
    • $77/h
  • AMBASSADOR Professor, tutoring in math, in physical sciences, chemistry and Homework help.

    Fali

    Montpellier, France

    4.8 (37 reviews)
    • $51/h
  • Centralien Engineer and Economist (three-way graduate of the Paris School of Economics, Ecole des Ponts et Chaussées and Centrale Lyon) offers private math lessons to high school and university studen

    Oussama

    Paris 16e, France

    5 (33 reviews)
    • $111/h
  • Graduated with many years of experience in teaching, she offers private lessons to high school students

    Deborah

    Milano, Italy

    5 (31 reviews)
    • $34/h
  • Personal MATHEMATICS and PHYSICS TUTOR of any level - Graduated in Physics - Homework help and Entrance test. Decades of experience in teaching

    Filippo

    Roma, Italy

    5 (28 reviews)
    • $60/h
    • 30mins free
  • Winning learning in learning french, english language, the philo, history / geo editor's memory and staff development

    Thierry

    Levallois-Perret, France

    4.9 (24 reviews)
    • $58/h
    • 1hr free
  • International University Professor with online support in Geometry and Linear Algebra (Spain)

    José Arturo

    Madrid, Spain

    4.9 (18 reviews)
    • $24/h
    • 30mins free
  • Online Math Private Lesson From University Student And Experienced Math Teacher

    Zeynep

    , Turkey

    5 (17 reviews)
    • $12/h
  • PhD in cognitive psychology provides tutoring, homework assistance, school and professional methodologies

    Jérôme

    Paris 5e, France

    5 (16 reviews)
    • $171/h
  • ESCP Europe Masters in Management graduate, experienced coach, offers Math / French / English tutoring in Paris

    Julie

    Paris 10e, France

    4.9 (14 reviews)
    • $68/h
  • Graduate teacher 15 years of experience offers tutoring in Paris and the suburbs

    Julien

    Paris, France

    4.9 (13 reviews)
    • $85/h
    • 1hr free
  • School teacher gives tutoring, homework help online or at home

    Sophie

    Fay-aux-Loges, France

    5 (12 reviews)
    • $26/h
    • 1hr free
  • Eligible SESAME ACCES ESC POST BAC - Preparation for oral motivation POST BAC

    Antoine

    Paris 15e, France

    5 (7 reviews)
    • $120/h
    • 30mins free
  • Certified teacher gives online tutoring courses adapted to all levels (primary, college and high school)

    Zélie

    Paris, France

    5 (5 reviews)
    • $68/h
    • 1hr free
  • Prepare for the upcoming year 2021-2022. Reinforcement courses and tutoring in sciences for all levels. Veteran tutor expert in education.

    Michel

    Paris 5e, France

    5 (4 reviews)
    • $77/h
    • 30mins free
  • Professional academic tutor since 2004: study skills, student organization, test preparation, time management, degree planning, career and life planning

    Alex Hartman

    Auckland

    • $75/h
    • 1hr free
  • Friendly and flexible tutor offering school support for primary and intermediate students in Auckland.

    Katie

    Auckland

    • $18/h
    • 1hr free
  • Math Masters - Tutoring Mathematics in Auckland (Fully Qualified Teacher) All Stages and Levels

    Joseph

    Dairy Flat

    • $70/h
    • 30mins free
  • University Student Offering Math Help for Students up to NCEA Level 3

    Zeenia

    Auckland

    • $28/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more teachers