Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
This ad is currently paused and cannot be viewed by visitors
alt_photo

Sue

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate $60
  • Response Time 24h
See English tutors

This teacher is currently unavailable

Sue - Addlestone - School English

    • Addlestone
    • at her place
    • at your home
    • webcam

About the lesson

Parents say I have really given their children confidence and made a big difference. One mother has just emailed to say her son always comes home happy and confident after his lesson

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

French, Italian, Religious Studies including Philosophy and Ethics, German, English.

I am an examiner for RS for OCR.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

BA Hons 2/2 French London Univeristy BA Hons 2/2 Italian London Univerisity Minor certificate in German from University of Heidelberg Diplome Annuel, Sorbonne, Paris Diploma in Religious Studies, London Extra Mural MA Philosophy and Religion, Heythrop, London University

- How much do you charge?

I normally charge £25 per hour, plus £5 for travel within a 10 mile radius.. It is £30 plus £ 5 for travel if applicable for AS or A2. I charge a minimum of £30 during school hours plus petrol costs. i will also tutor two students together for the same price.

- Where do you teach?

I can teach at my own home or travel to Woking, Byfleet, Walton, Weybridge, Chertsey, Virginia Water, Ascot, Chobham, Cobham. I do not normally travel to new students who start in February - June, as I get extremely booked up and there is no travel time available, but it is worth asking. However, I continue to travel to students I have taken on from the beginning of the year.

- When are you available?

Mainly after school or Saturdays after 12 noon. I will take on clients for two hour sessions during the school day. I normally do supply teaching in schools during the day.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

Most of my experience is with secondary students and adults, but I have had a fair amount of Primary experience over the last sixr years. I do not recommend formal language lessons for children under 9.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

French and Italian and Religious Studies to Advanced Level. Beginners German to GCSE. English to GCSE

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

We have skype, but have not yet tutored directly on line. I have made individual power point presentations for pupils and sent them.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

My students find my lessons particularly helpful and gain confidence.It's never too late to learn. You will be able to succeed. If you find the work difficult, study for a few minutes at a time, have a break and come back to it. Start your revision early.
When you take your exams, read the question very carefully. Plenty of students get lower marks than they should because they do not answer the exact question they have been asked. This applies to very short questions as much as to the longer essay type questions. Make sure you have understood the point of the question.

subjects

  • English
  • Dissertation and thesis preparation

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • High School
  • NCEA Level 1
  • +7

    NCEA Level 2

    NCEA Level 3

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Sue

- What kind of experience do you have?

Over 40 years in state and independent schools in the South East. 5 years experience of adult education at night school. I have been tutoring since 1964 and gained excellent results. I make some of my own materials and gear lessons to the student's individual needs. Different students have different preferred ways of learning and it is important to find out what works best for each individual - whether visual, hearing, reading or by experience. I have made power point presentations to support learning. If you are a slow learner, I am patient. If you need to be stretched, I will push you to an advanced level.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes, from February this year.
I have just applied for a new one through Eteach, July 2015

- Where and with whom did you train?

London University. London Institute of Education 1968. PGCE

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

ATL

- Tell me about some of your current students.

. My last group of RS students all got A s and A stars. The secretary of a firm where I tutored said I always go the extra mile. My students for German and for Philosophy found me very helpful. I taught Italian from January to June in a special school for students with Aspergers. in 2013.
This last academic year 2014-15 I was teaching three boys and one girl English to GCSE. I had had two of these boys for three years. One boy won a prize for the most improvement in English. I still hatve two boys going into Year 11 for English.
I have two girls and two boys who have been studying French and German me for two and three years. Another girl has just taken her French GCSE after two years with me. Last year the elder sister of one of the boys got an A in both French and German after studying with me. I have just entered one girl for AS level French and another for AS Italian. She got an A star in Italian last year after only one lesson a week. I also have an adult learner for Italian.
I have tutored one boy for RS gxse and two girls for A2 RS this year.

Rates

packs

  • 5h: $300
  • 10h: $600

webcam

  • $60/h

Find your english tutor
104341 tutors available

  • PhD in Cognitive Psychology helps you in the writing of your research paper or manuscript thesis

    Jérôme

    Paris 5e, France

    5 (22 reviews)
    • $171/h
  • Undergraduate, Postgraduate and English tutor. International online guidance for academic, essay and dissertation writing, English, exam preparation and presentation skills!

    Marcella

    Fareham, United Kingdom

    5 (21 reviews)
    • $48/h
  • PhD and nationally-published writer teaching GCSE and above, based in London

    Alexis

    London, United Kingdom

    5 (19 reviews)
    • $77/h
    • 30mins free
  • French courses for ERASMUS students and EXPAT / English courses for ERASMUS STUDENTS and Expatriates

    Marie

    Strasbourg, France

    4.9 (17 reviews)
    • $68/h
  • Experienced Business English Tutor based in Montreal (CA, B.com). Taught Business English at the university level in France. Corporate Finance experience of over 11 years.

    Ritika

    Montreal, Canada

    5 (11 reviews)
    • $35/h
    • 30mins free
  • Ex-Communications Lecturer, with Bachelor and Masters degrees, teaches essay writing and thesis and dissertation preparation. Teaching at tertiary level, and teaching online.

    Shonagh

    Auckland

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • English is very important. Need to be confident? I am a tutor who will help you.

    Tahuhu

    Waiomio

    • $23/h
    • 1hr free
  • PhD survivor offering some great academic lessons to anyone interested (within Aotearoa)

    Saba

    Manawatu-Wanganui

    • $35/h
    • 1hr free
  • - University Graduate Student with the highest overall grades in my degree programme. - Experienced researcher and published creative writer with 6 years of professional writing experience. - Holistic

    Zak

    Kumeū

    • $50/h
    • 1hr free
  • Experienced tutor for high school and academic English, as well as ESOL. Masters in language and culture

    Adam

    Auckland

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • English Graduate from the University of Lagos, and Volunteer  Judge at the Queen's Commonwealth Essay Competition

    John-Jude

    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • TESOL and Applied Linguistics Masters holder offering English and Research writing lessons

    Apsara

    Wellington

    • $35/h
    • 1hr free
  • Medical graduate with ancillary subjects at University level,including editing offers tutoring in biological science,English,writing and health sciences

    Bryan

    Morrinsville

    • $40/h
    • 1hr free
  • Masters graduate from the University of Otago. I can teach English for all levels and requirements. Personal and easy going methodology.

    Fatima

    Auckland

    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Phd holder in Education with degrees from the Philippines and South Korea and with research, TESOL, secondary and tertiary teaching expertise.  Would gladly individualize instructional program.

    Arlan

    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • A Registered Nurse with Masters in health Science (Nursing) who is passionate about teaching Englishand helping both children and adults wanting to unlock their potencials. Iam hard working, patient

    Dorothy

    Auckland

    • $19/h
    • 1hr free
  • I am an experienced Teaching Assistant at the University of Auckland and an English tutor for students ranging from Year 1 to 11. I specialise in essay writing, creative writing and reading comp.

    Violet

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Graduate As a graduate of the University of Canterbury, teaching experience of 2.5 years, I'm dedicated to help students with their needs with written and spoken English. I've worked with a range of s

    Darian

    Christchurch

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Academic learning advisor ready to assist with assignment writing, and dissertations etc

    Christina

    Waikato

    • $45/h
    • 1hr free
  • Academic Writing Tutor (Central Auckland) by Associate Professor recently returned from UK

    Mark

    Auckland

    • $50/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more teachers