Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
This ad is currently paused and cannot be viewed by visitors
alt_photo

Saphran

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate $51
  • Response Time 24h
See Support For Students With Dyspraxia tutors

This teacher is currently unavailable

Saphran - Central Birmingham - Support For Students With Dyspraxia

    • Central Birmingham
    • at his place
    • at your home
    • webcam

About the lesson

Hi, I am a recent graduate from the Birmingham Conservatoire and currently finishing off my PGCE qualification. I have various teaching, performing and conducting experience from a wide genre of music, from classical/brass band to pop/Indian music.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach all brass instruments including the Euphonium, Trombone (Tenor and Bass), Baritone, Trumpet, Cornet, French and Tenor Horn, Tuba and music theory.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I graduated with honours from the Birmingham Conservatoire in 2010 on Euphonium and Trombone.
Am currently finishing my PGCE course at Birmingham City University, specialising in Secondary and Peripatetic teaching.

- How much do you charge?

I normally charge £25 per hour and £13 for half hour lessons, however these charges are dependant on travel etc. I also negotiate teaching packages and discounted consultation sessions. I also have a few brass instruments to hire or loan if you would like to 'try before you buy'. Any questions or enquiries, please do not hessitate to contact me.

- Where do you teach?

I am able to travel across the entire Midlands area (including Birmingham, West Bromwich, Coventry, Walsall, Dudley, Sandwell, Wolverhampton, Tamworth, Warwickshire, Staffordshire) to teach at the the students home. However, if there are difficulties, arrangements can be made for a room to be hired in or around Birmingham.

- When are you available?

I am available during the afternoon and in the evening on most weekdays, and usually all day on weekends.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I can teach students of all ages and abilities, ranging from beginners to grade 8. Most of my teaching has been focused on teaching students between the ages of 7-18, however I have taught mature students who have wanted to return to the instrument or learn something new.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I follow both the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM) Syllabus and the Trinity Syllabus for students who are keen to follow a curriculum and to take exams.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I can arrange online tutoring using Skype.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

Here are a few things I strongly believe in:

1.) Music is for everyone, its not just for the special few who have these 'amazing powers', we all have it in us regardless of age, race, colour, class etc.
2.) Music is like sports, if you want to succeed you you have to put in the hard work, but the rewards are fantastic! (Believe me)
3.) Mistakes in music are good! We are all human and we all make mistakes. Learn from them, dont avoid them.
4.) No matter what, music must always be FUN!

subjects

  • Support For Students With Dyspraxia

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • High School
  • NCEA Level 1
  • +7

    NCEA Level 2

    NCEA Level 3

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Saphran

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have various experience as a teacher, including workshops and classroom teaching for 4-18 year olds, but my speciality is peripatetic teaching with individuals or small groups of all ages which I have done at various schools and privately. My playing experience has seen me play with many of the top Brass Bands around the West Midlands. I am currently Principal Euphonium with both the Langley Brass Band and Birmingham Symphonic Winds, which have great concert and contest success at many of the leading concert halls across the country. Highlights include winning the Midland Regional Competition (2010) and winning a 'Best Instrumentalist Award' in 2009 with the Langley Band. With Birmingham Symphonic Winds, the highlight has been performing at very successful concerts with world famous soloists and recently, going on a tour to New York. My playing experience also branches out to Trombone playing, where I am currently Bass Trombone and co-organiser of the Sambuca Diaries Big Band, a midlands based Jazz Band which perform regularly at local jazz clubs, pubs and private functions. I also am a performer in an Indian Wedding band where we learn all tunes by ear and then perform/improvise at private wedding functions to create a fusion with Indian drums. I have also had the opportunity to conduct various ensembles, from small groups to school Wind Bands, Jazz Bands and competing Brass Bands.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes

- Where and with whom did you train?

My studies began when I was taught to play the Euphonium through the local music service under Stuart Birnie, ex Tuba of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra (CBSO), until my acceptance to the Conservatoire. Whilst at the Birmingham Conservatoire, I studied the Euphonium under David Childs (Euphonium), Owen Farr (Tenor Horn) and Katrina Marzella (Baritone) who are all world famous soloists in the Brass Band world. I studied Trombone under the direction of Bob Hughes, ex Bass Trombone of the London Symphony Orchestra (LSO).

Rates

packs

  • 5h: $255
  • 10h: $510

webcam

  • $51/h

Find your support for students with dyspraxia tutor
136 tutors available

  • SEN London based tutor working with Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, ADD/ADHA (and other SEN needs) from age 7 to mature students

    Kira Phoenix

    London, United Kingdom

    5 (10 reviews)
    • $86/h
    • 1hr free
  • Special Educational Needs Tutor available for kindergarten to grade 8 Via webcam.

    Leena

    Edmonton, Canada

    4.9 (10 reviews)
    • $28/h
    • 45mins free
  • Classes focused on Elementary and Early Childhood Education Students with Difficulty in the area of Language.

    Marta

    Granada, Spain

    5 (7 reviews)
    • $21/h
  • Special educator with 10 years experience offering support to children with dyslexia, dysgraphia, dyscalculia, and reading difficulties

    Jacinta

    Swindon, United Kingdom

    5 (5 reviews)
    • $38/h
    • 1hr free
  • Maths/ English SEN tutor - London - Trainee Educational Psychologist 10 years experience working in schools supporting children with SEN

    Donna

    London, United Kingdom

    5 (4 reviews)
    • $67/h
  • Dyslexic Graduate in BSc(Hons) Psychology with Counselling. 3 years experience in tutoring in a variety of subjects and study skills. Students varying in age from primary to university.

    Abi

    Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom

    5 (4 reviews)
    • $29/h
    • 1hr free
  • Qualified French teacher with rich background in therapy and academic follow-up to students with learning challenges.

    Maya

    Mississauga, Canada

    5 (3 reviews)
    • $66/h
    • 45mins free
  • Masters degree, qualified, engaging Teacher with 20+ years IB PYP teaching experience

    S

    Sandwich, United Kingdom

    5 (2 reviews)
    • $75/h
    • 30mins free
  • Tutoring for Primary Aged pupils. First lesson free! Tailored learning approach! Book now! Virtual or social distancing with PPE in a purpose built building available.

    Bethan

    Caerphilly, United Kingdom

    5 (2 reviews)
    • $38/h
    • 1hr free
  • Bespoke, specialist tutoring, homeschooling and educational support for students with learning difficulties.

    Kristy

    Greensborough, Australia

    5 (1 reviews)
    • $137/h
    • 30mins free
  • Dyslexic 1st class International Relations & Sociology graduate, willing to share writing, reading and comprehension tips & tricks.

    Reccarnei

    Oxford, United Kingdom

    5 (1 reviews)
    • $29/h
    • 30mins free
  • Post Dip. graduate in Special Needs Education (ADHD,AUTISM and Learning Disabilities). I tutor and support kids in primary level for all  subjects.

    Vivyan

    Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

    5 (1 reviews)
    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • 10 years Of teaching amazing children online and in person. I LOVE HELPING

    Maura

    Blawnox, United States

    • $50/h
    • 1hr free
  • Qualified Primary Teacher looking to help and support children with their learning.

    Natasha

    Weir, United Kingdom

    • $58/h
    • 30mins free
  • Masters Graduate who can help you with politics, sociology, social theories, and history.

    Laauurra

    Dundee, United Kingdom

    • $19/h
    • 1hr free
  • Engineering student that offers maths and english classes for children with special needs.

    Iuliana

    Coventry, United Kingdom

    • $42/h
    • 1hr free
  • Primary school teaching assistant offering help with reading, writing and maths for children aged 4-11

    Kate

    London, United Kingdom

    • $58/h
    • 1hr free
  • ABA Specialist with focus on Early Intervention for Students with NDD.

    Helen obiageli

    Lagos, Nigeria

    • $19/h
    • 1hr free
  • Straight A student from Kindergarten to Sophomore. Spelling Bee regional champion for 4 years in a row.

    Rahndi

    Casa Grande, United States

    • $36/h
    • 1hr free
  • Graduate computer science student offering math and science lessons to students of all ages at all education levels

    Vhal dhimant

    Santa Cruz, United States

    • $72/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more teachers