Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
This ad is currently paused and cannot be viewed by visitors
alt_photo

Jane

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate $61
  • Response Time 24h
See English tutors

This teacher is currently unavailable

Jane - Great Notley - School English

    • Great Notley
    • at her place
    • at your home
    • webcam

About the lesson

My students are all treated as individuals and grow in confidence during their time with me. Skills are encouraged and developed through a happy, friendly working atmosphere.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

Business studies and Economics to A Level together with business modules for BTEC Qualifications at Levels 2 and Levels 3. Examplesof these include communication, economics, ethics, HR Recruitment and Selection, Retail, Health & Safety, Business structure and organisations.

Current English literature students are discussing Shakespeare, Steinbeck and gothic novels together with Thomas Hardy's novels and poetry.

I have a number of individuals and groups for 11+ and common entrance exams. Other primary students are studying towards improving their English and Maths to move into higher sets and improve their confidence.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I initially obtained an industry professional qualification at Warwick University under the Institute of IT Training in 1998. I then moved to education where I undertoook the CertEd on a 2 year part time course starting in January 2006 and finishing in 2008 which I passed. This was through the University of Greenwich.

- How much do you charge?

My fees start from £25 for primary children up to £30 for GCSE/A Level. This fee includes all materials. I also have an extensive amount of books which students are free to borrow on a weekly basis. To accommodate all teaching requests sessions are run from my home although I do travel during the day to A level students homes and add travel costs to the hourly fee.

- Where do you teach?

I usually teach at my home on an individual basis or in a group of no more than 4 students. I currently teach students from Braintree, Chelmsford and its surrounding areas down to Brentwood in Essex. I have recently taken on students from Colchester. Again, I do travel to accommodate students during the day although these are mainly A level students or GCSE students on revision/study leave.

- When are you available?

I tutor at the weekends on a Saturday morning and occasionally Sunday if a tutee is unable to make their allotted time. I also offer tutoring after school. During school holidays I provide workshops for 11+ and for primary students to improve their maths and english before starting their new year at school. I also offer revision workshops for Primary for SATS and for GCSE/AS/A Level students on various subjects.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

5-11 primary and 11+ and 14-19 years of age, GCSE, A Level and Levels 2 and Levels 3 Business and Economics. Some students have come to me in Year 7 and Year 8 for a short period of time to improve Maths or English skills in order to move up to higher sets during the early senior school years.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

11+, SATS, GCSE, AS/A Level, BTEC, Degrees


Literacy and Numeracy exams for entry to University.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I do not currently tutor online.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I believe you can achieve if you set yourself goals. Look at what you need to do to get there and then break it up in to small easy steps. Take each step one at a time and then once achieved, set your next goal. You will find you will build in confidence and be more motivated to learn.

subjects

  • English
  • 11+ School Exam Preparation

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • High School
  • NCEA Level 1
  • +7

    NCEA Level 2

    NCEA Level 3

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Jane

- What kind of experience do you have?

I initially started teaching students from 16-60 in industry mainly teaching IT and "soft skills" for example, team working, motivation, presentation skills, etc. I also taught them to pass the MOS exams covering Word, Powerpoint, Excel and Access. During this time I taught abroad in Europe, Australia and Asia.

I volunteered to mentor students at an East London school helping to improve their english and maths skills whilst also motivating them to move into further education and college courses. I then changed direction and moved from industry into education. I am able to teach primary school children and 14-19 year olds. I specialise in Business and Economics for secondary students. I also help with academic writing for university students together with supporting those students studying business or economic related degrees.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes

- Tell me about some of your current students.

My current primary students are studying towards the 11+ as well as Year 6 students attending workshops for SATS. Younger students are improving their reading, spelling and comprehension together with maths skills.

Those studying towards GCSE Maths and English are aiming for A-B grades and working hard to improve their predicted grades. They wish to continue studying at A level. Those already at A Level have chosen their university places and preferred courses and are working hard to achieve good grades to attain the relevant UCAS points.

Rates

packs

  • 5h: $305
  • 10h: $610

webcam

  • $61/h

Find your english tutor
104584 tutors available

  • Full Time Teacher provides Proofreading, Citing,Plagiarism Check and Grammar Correction to any Academic Writing

    Davayne

    Houston, United States

    5 (35 reviews)
    • $10/h
  • Business English Teacher London: I specialize in helping advanced English students achieve English fluency.

    Clarke

    London, United Kingdom

    5 (22 reviews)
    • $77/h
    • 1hr free
  • Undergraduate, Postgraduate and English tutor. International online guidance for academic, essay and dissertation writing, English, exam preparation and presentation skills!

    Marcella

    Fareham, United Kingdom

    5 (21 reviews)
    • $48/h
  • PhD and nationally-published writer teaching GCSE and above, based in London

    Alexis

    London, United Kingdom

    5 (19 reviews)
    • $77/h
    • 30mins free
  • I am a qualified English Teacher who provides engaging and dynamic English and ESL lessons to students of all ages via the Zoom platform. I provide my students with all the material needed to succeed.

    Laura

    Toronto, Canada

    5 (12 reviews)
    • $39/h
    • 30mins free
  • Experienced Business English Tutor based in Montreal (CA, B.com). Taught Business English at the university level in France. Corporate Finance experience of over 11 years.

    Ritika

    Montreal, Canada

    5 (11 reviews)
    • $35/h
    • 30mins free
  • Learn French, German, Italian and English as a second language with me! I am an enthousiastic French teacher who can't wait to meet you!

    Lily

    Dunedin

    5 (9 reviews)
    • $35/h
    • 30mins free
  • Graduate from NCEA level 3. Fresh from high school and exams, was a high achiever. I know exactly how to prepare for exams and tests. I helped tutor people at school through part of a big sister progr

    Cailee

    Whangārei

    5 (1 reviews)
    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Psychology undergraduate from University of Auckland, teaches English, Biology, Statistics, Chinese for all NCEA levels in Auckland.

    Jessie

    Auckland

    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Multi Scholarship student offering English lessons up to University level in Auckland.

    Janine

    Auckland

    • $25/h
    • 45mins free
  • Previous HOD for SLD students - On topic writing is a speciality!

    MaryAnne

    Te Awanga

    • $50/h
    • 1hr free
  • Qualified teacher of Unit Standards for a wide range of subjects to High School students, adults (NCALE) and ESOL.

    Michael

    Manawatu-Wanganui

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • English Tutor for all year levels.  North Shore Auckland. 20-year-old Physiotherapy student.  Endorsed NCEA English Levels 1, 2 & 3 with Excellence.

    Marley

    Auckland

    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • AUT Uni student with an advanced English degree looking to tutor anyone from ages 14+

    Ethan

    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • ESL Tutor ( degree + TEFL ) offering ESL English classes for language learners and tuition for high school students

    Duncan

    Whangarei

    • $21/h
    • 30mins free
  • Experienced English tutor, with top grades in high school English (High School Senior Scholar), currently in my second year of a law, economics and finance degree

    Millie

    Wellington

    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Over 20 years of tutoring experience in Invercargill with teacher and adult education qualifications

    Janette

    Invercargill

    • $40/h
    • 1hr free
  • Experienced teacher offers creative coaching to improve reading, comprehension and writing skills

    Lyndsey

    Tuakau

    • $40/h
    • 1hr free
  • Canadian Studnet offering English Classes online group and Individual -By Rhytham Verma

    Rhytham

    Upper Hutt

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Law student offering english, history and social sciences lessons in Auckland.

    Mele

    Auckland

    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more teachers