Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
alt_photo

JD

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate $40
  • Response Time 24h
See Maths tutors

This teacher is currently unavailable

JD - Claverdon - Maths

    • Claverdon
    • at her place
    • at your home
    • webcam

About the lesson

I am an English native speaker living in Warwickshire. I am both an engineer and a teacher by profession.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach English as a Foreign Language (TEFL/ESOL/ESL), IELTS, English for Specific Purposes (ESP), Content and Language Integrated Learning (CLIL), TOEIC, Pronunciation & Accent Reduction (TEFL), GCSE Physics, Science & Maths. I also specialise in Scientific, Technical, Medical & Business English for professionals. I can also offer proofreading and translation services for English - Russian/Ukrainian - English.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a PGCE in Physics and Science, Intensive TEFL and B.Eng (Hons) in Electronic and Electrical Engineering.

- How much do you charge?

- My fee is £20 per hour 1:1, £30 for 2 students; £40 for 3 students.
Blocks of 10 lessons purchased come with 1 free.
There is a £5 fuel charge per visit if outside Stratford On Avon area.
[***Special rates negotiated for low income earners***]
- IELTS Writing Proofreading - Task1 £4.99, Task2 £4.99
(I will read your report/essay & correct it via email. I cannot give you a band as this is forbidden.)
- Proofreading - Minimum charge £4.99 for 250 words or less, £15 per 1000 words
- Light Editing - £20 per 1000 words & Heavy Editing - £25 per 1000 words
- Translation services (UA/RU-EN-UA/RU) - Minimum charge £20 for 200 words or less, £100 for 1000 words, thereafter each block of 50 words costs £5

- Where do you teach?

I am pretty flexible about where I teach. My area includes Stratford Upon Avon, Tiddington, Alveston and Wellesbourne, which are all within 4 miles of my house & there is no extra charge. Destinations between 4 - 12 miles away (Alcester, Warwick, Leamington, Gaydon, Chipping Camden, Shipson on Stour, Henley in Arden) will be charged at £5 return. Destinations greater than 12 miles away (up to 1 hour) will be charged at the normal hourly rate i.e. a 30 min away (Banbury) will cost £20 return, 1 hr away (Oxford) will cost £40 return.

- When are you available?

I am available most afternoons and evenings, including weekends, for tutoring in students houses.
I can only accept students at my premises on Tuesday/Thursday/Sunday evenings, Friday/Saturday afternoons.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach mainly 15+ and adults, but can prepare students for 11+, Primary Education, Secondary Science & Maths up to GCSE.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

IELTS, Cambridge ESOL, TOEIC, GCSE Science & Maths.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

Email/skype support is available for English/IELTS modules.
I also offer a CV writing, proof reading service and translation services for English - Russian/Ukrainian - English.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

In June 2010 I passed my GCSE in Russian after 5 years of study, so I do understand your difficulties of studying a foreign language. You the student, have a huge advantage, in that you actually live here and are fully immersed in the British culture. This will make your progression much easier and in no time you will notice the improvement. As they say in Russia..... "Repetition is the mother of all learning."

subjects

  • Maths
  • Physics
  • School science

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • High School
  • NCEA Level 1
  • +7

    NCEA Level 2

    NCEA Level 3

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About JD

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have been an engineer since 1991 and in 2002 I received my PGCE teaching qualification. Since then I have practised both professions, as a result I have mainly been involved in contract or private work. More recently I have been heavily involved in tutoring Academic IELTS.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Last check was April 2010.

- Where and with whom did you train?

My PGCE is from the University of Birmingham (2002), TEFL qualification is from Intensive TEFL (2006) and my degree is from the Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen (1991).

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I am a member of the General Teaching Council in England, the Institute of Engineering Technology and the Institute of Physics.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

Most of my time is currently taken up by a local foreign national doctor studying for his IELTS exam. This is required for part of his GMC registration in order to become a UK doctor. I am also helping some foreign staff of my local French Bistro with their English.

Rates

packs

  • 5h: $200
  • 10h: $400

webcam

  • $40/h

Find your maths tutor
304816 tutors available

  • Education Professor of Mathematics / Physics / Chemistry in Paris - School Coach - associate professor and graduate center

    Greg

    Paris 16e, France

    5 (124 reviews)
    • $222/h
    • 30mins free
  • EXPERIENCED TEACHER: PHYSICS MATH - TUTORING - Coaching - UPDATE 8 years experience

    Houssem

    Paris 2e, France

    4.9 (112 reviews)
    • $103/h
    • 30mins free
  • University of Engineering with 5 years of experience in repetition proposes Lectures of Mathematics and FIsica (for middle, high school and high school), Preparation of University Test of Character

    Riccardo

    Roma, Italy

    5 (102 reviews)
    • $43/h
    • 30mins free
  • Independent tutor in math and physics and chemistry (I agree contractually results)

    Grégory

    Paris 8e, France

    5 (97 reviews)
    • $197/h
    • 1hr free
  • Certified teacher gives math lessons in Paris (face) and all around the world (web)

    Laurent

    Paris 18e, France

    4.9 (93 reviews)
    • $85/h
    • 30mins free
  • Montessorian Teacher & School Coach: Individual Domain Quality Courses in Mathematics

    Anis

    Paris 17e, France

    4.9 (82 reviews)
    • $85/h
    • 1hr free
  • PHYSICS and MATHEMATICS lessons - Graduated in Physics - Theoretical Physics Mayor  - Online via Webcam

    Filippo

    Roma, Italy

    5 (77 reviews)
    • $60/h
    • 30mins free
  • Student at Télécom SudParis School gives maths and physics classes in Paris

    Pierre-Thomas

    Paris 4e, France

    5 (51 reviews)
    • $103/h
    • 30mins free
  • Math,Statistics Teacher offers on line classes  from computer to computer with screen sharing

    José Arturo

    Madrid, Spain

    4.9 (44 reviews)
    • $21/h
  • Full-Time Math Teacher with 5+ Years Experience gives Reliable Lessons Online

    Davayne

    Houston, United States

    5 (43 reviews)
    • $19/h
    • 30mins free
  • 3+ years experience tutoring Math, Sciences and Music. University of Auckland Optometry student

    Jessica

    Auckland

    • $35/h
    • 1hr free
  • Research student offering tutions in math, physics, Biology, Science English and chemistry

    Pinki

    Auckland

    • $30/h
    • 30mins free
  • Engineering student in Christchurch offering help In Physics, calculus and general algebra

    Shou-Yick

    Christchurch

    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Current Medical Student able to teach high school NCEA maths and science online

    June

    Auckland

    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Math student is offering special lessons for students who need special lesson

    Medina

    Auckland

    • $10/h
    • 1hr free
  • Engineer offering NCEA maths, physics and chemistry tutoring in Auckland up to University level

    Cat

    Auckland

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • I am an alumni of HuttValley High School with excellence endorsement in Calculus, Chemistry, Physics and Biology. I can teach all of the subjects above in level 1 to 3. Based in Lowerhutt Wellington,

    Nadia

    Lower Hutt

    • $19/h
    • 1hr free
  • University physics student offering physics and chemistry lessons online. up to NCEA level 3

    Alex

    Auckland

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • An iron rod can be molded when its hot , an individual can also be molded when he/she is a student.

    Gettam

    Auckland

    • $22/h
    • 1hr free
  • 5a* Auckland experienced Usyd student tutor Cambridge mathematics and physics up to Further maths.

    Victor

    Auckland

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more teachers