Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
This ad is currently paused and cannot be viewed by visitors
alt_photo

Claire

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate $65
  • Response Time 24h
See Music tutors

This teacher is currently unavailable

Claire - Sidcup - Music

    • Sidcup
    • at her place
    • at your home
    • webcam

About the lesson

I love catering for all ages from aged 5 right through to adult. I am enjoy teaching early years students using a Kodaly based music programme.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

Piano (practical and theory).
GCSE Music (Performing, composing and listening).
Popular musical styles. I am also available for accompanying other instruments in exams and other performances.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

BMus (Kingston University 2000)
CT ABRSM (Royal Schools of Music 2003)
PGCE (East London University 2005)

- How much do you charge?

£32 per hour for individual lessons (most students begin with half hour lessons once a week) - charged 4-weekly.

Free trial lessons are offered - these are short lessons at the piano followed by a chat between teacher, student, and/or parent - it gives us an opportunity to meet and discuss all matters relating to lessons and helps a student to make an informed decision about booking lessons. This process usually takes around 30 minutes.

- Where do you teach?

I teach in a purpose built music room on my premises (separate from my house) Areas likely to travel to me are: Sidcup, Eltham, Blackfen, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Dartford, Chislehurst, Mottingham, New Eltham, Blackheath etc. My address is Kent but I am very close to South East London postcodes.

- When are you available?

Week nights and Saturdays.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

All ages and all levels. (5-7 year olds follow a special music program based on Kodaly principles).
All students and/or parents are invited to an informal chat and a free trial lesson to assess the needs of the student.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

ABRSM grades 1-8 Practical and Theory (other exam boards where appropriate).
GCSE music.
Available as an accompanist to other instrumentalists which can also help to prepare students for their examinations.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I do not offer on-line tutoring at present but would support current students in an on-line capacity where necessary.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I believe that all students can learn music/piano to a level that is suitable for them and I enjoy catering for all students and their individual needs.

subjects

  • Music

languages

  • English

levels

  • All Levels

About Claire

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have experience as a piano teacher since 2001. During this time I have taught one-to-one lessons from home, peripatetic group lessons in secondary school and adult group lessons in adult education. I am a qualified classroom teacher and I have taught music in secondary schools to KS3 and GCSE (11-16yrs). During my time in the classroom I taught large groups, small groups and one-to-one students; entering many for GCSE music with piano as their first instrument. I coached them after school in order to improve their keyboard skills. I have successfully entered many students for Graded examinations and I have also enjoyed developing a programming for little ones (aged 5-7) based on the Kodaly method.
I have coached students in rehearsals for concerts in school and out, I have performed in concerts myself and I have worked with other schools on many musical enrichment projects.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

DBS checked - up to date.

- Where and with whom did you train?

Details of where I trained are in my qualifications section above.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

GTC

- Tell me about some of your current students.

GRADED EXAMS: Current students range from beginner to Grade 7.
KODALY: I have little ones working through my Kodaly based programme, some of which are currently going through the transition between this and Junior level learning eg. Music theory and closer recognition of staff notation.
ADULTS: I have some very committed adults, some of which are choosing graded examinations and some choosing to learn carefully selected pieces for their own enjoyment.
GCSE: I have some year 11 students working towards their exams and I am coaching them in such a way that caters for the specific needs of GCSE performing, composing and listening.

Rates

packs

  • 5h: $325
  • 10h: $650

webcam

  • $65/h

Find your music tutor
1733 tutors available

  • Lesson composition, orchestration and arrangement for ensemble, orchestra and electronique

    Stanislav

    Paris 1er, France

    4.9 (17 reviews)
    • $60/h
    • 30mins free
  • Graduate from the Waikato Uni, and post-graduate study of secondary school teaching from the Auckland Uni, teaches Music, Japanese, and ESOL for all levels . Individualised online lessons.

    Karin

    Auckland

    5 (1 reviews)
    • $60/h
    • 1hr free
  • Brazilian musician with 14 years of experience theaches Rhythms and Harmony guided by student's curiosity of repertory.

    Paulo

    • $35/h
    • 1hr free
  • Year 13 high school student offering guitar, piano, music theory and songwriting/composition tutoring from beginners up to NCEA level 3 Music in Dunedin :)

    Helena

    Dunedin

    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • BMus(Hons) violinist and pianist, keen to help people of any age learn how to read music with ease!

    Grace

    Christchurch

    • $50/h
    • 1hr free
  • Bachelor Of Education Graduate teaches Self Actualisation through the arts. Piano Guitar Vocal Songwriting Creative Writing Poetry Maori Arts Maori Crafts Maori Games

    Emma

    • $48/h
    • 1hr free
  • Currently studying music Technology at Massey University in Wellington, I enjoy all aspects of music and play drums and guitar, as well as understand basic theory. Teaching Primary-Intermediate level.

    Tessa

    Wellington

    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • BMus Canterbury University; Master of Music Therapy from Victoria University of Wellington; Grew up in Christchurch, 5 years performance/teaching music to migrants/special needs students ranging from

    Ichen

    Auckland

    • $60/h
    • 1hr free
  • Professional Musician with 40+ years experience gives bass guitar   and music theory lessons at home.

    Max

    Te Puke

    • $60/h
    • 1hr free
  • Studying jazz performance in Wellington Pianist and saxophonist with 10+ years experience

    Zoe

    Wellington

    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • University of Auckland Jazz music student with 13 years of experience gives brass lessons in Auckland City.

    Josephine

    Auckland

    • $45/h
    • 1hr free
  • Graduate Diploma in Contemporary Music offering Guitar and Ukulele lessons along with Music Theory

    Raghu Avanish

    • $50/h
    • 30mins free
  • I was a former Church Choir Accompanist in the Philippines. Open for kids ages 7-12.  Can help you in: 1. Basic Music Reading 2. Learning Musical instruments (Keyboard, Guitar, Ukulele) 3. Basic Singi

    Henrick

    Auckland

    • $40/h
    • 1hr free
  • - Music teacher with over 18 years of experience in teaching NCEA and Cambridge curriculum.   Online lessons available for students who wish to develop or improve their music theory, composition, exam

    Marija

    Auckland

    • $60/h
    • 1hr free
  • Music performance, composition, theory, muscology.  Music technology, electronic composition.  I tutor  Yr. 1 (age 5) to Yr.6 (age 11) Yr. 7 (age 12) to Yr 10 ( age 15)  Senior Yr.11-14  Curricular in

    Peter

    Nelson

    • $50/h
    • 1hr free
  • I have a Commercial Music Degree from WINTEC, I tutor music theory, how to read music, vocal lessons and songwriting for beginners. Personalised methodology to meet your individual needs.

    Mukuka

    Auckland

    • $40/h
    • 1hr free
  • Qualified Violin, Piano and Music Theory Tutor with 6 Years Teaching Experience

    Hannah

    Invercargill

    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Professional Musician offering Guitar, Piano and Production lessons in Palmerston. Jazz/Neo-Soul/Rock/ etc

    Jeremy

    Palmerston North

    • $60/h
    • 1hr free
  • Current first year University of Auckland student and a previous clarinet teacher for a local music school. Great experience in bands, clarinet and piano :) passionate about the joy of music!

    Rya

    Auckland

    • $35/h
    • 1hr free
  • Experienced (18 years playing) guitarist/musician/songwriter able to share knowledge and passion for music and songwriting. Beginners through to intermediate.

    Laughing In

    Rotorua

    • $45/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more teachers